Rammstein Rocked the O2, Dublin 27-02-12 :)

I know this is sooooooooooooooo late, it’s been over a week already but wow, wow, wow, Rammstein kicked Dublin’s metal asses last Monday night! I am still there in my heart, it was such a brilliant night! Those of you who know me, even just a little bit, know I am a huge Rammstein fan since my teens (not giving away my age, lol) and totally in love with their lead guitarist Richard Kruspe!!! I also mentioned here last year that I was so excited about buying my ticket for this event (in fact it was my first blog post?!).

I travelled to Germany in 2005 to see Rammstein play in their hometown, Berlin, it was the Reise, Reise tour and not only were the band playing in the legendary, open-air amphitheater Kindl-Bühne Wuhlheide, Helsinki’s finest export, virtuoso cellists (plus drummer) Apocalyptica supported AND joined the metal giants on-stage for an extra goosebumpy Ohne Dich.

It’s hard to believe I’ve waited 7 years to see Rammstein again, but man, was it worth it! This was their first ever Irish gig in their 17 year career and there was no way I was going to miss it, recession or not! (130euro for two tickets, typical rip-off Republic but that’s not the band’s fault).

It was worth every penny. We battled through Dublin city centre traffic and made it to the O2 in good time, such good time we made it to the second row, stage left and stood our ground until the metal giants came to conquer (supporting act Death Stars didn’t make much of an impression after their second song but I’ll forgive them because Rammstein are in league of their own! I feel sorry for any band that supports them, it’s too big a shoe to fill!). Stage left of course, as close to Kruspe as I could possibly get! I’m not going to go into every detail of their amazing stage-show, you can read that on loads of other blogs (and brilliantly written they are) and see videos online, but flames, yes, fire-balls, yes, fireworks, yes, explosions, yes, floods of sparks, yes, flame-throwers, yes, glitter, yes, angel-wings, yes, fantastic musicianship, hell yes, hot angry German rockers, hell yes, partial nudity, but of course, bondage, yes, massive ride-on manhood pumping out white foam? only at a Rammstein concert!!!

Rammstein delivered straight away following a lengthy introduction which had the venue begging to start, the suspense was really like no other gig I had been to (apart from Berlin of course), bursting in with the monsterous Sonne, Rammstein claimed posession of the O2 instantly. The crowd literally went wild!!! I’m no stranger to the mosh-pit (proud survivor of Motörhead 2004!) but some of the fans were down-right scary! It was virtually impossible to take photographs but I did mange to get a few which I will share in a moment.

Rammstein played a brilliant set, a great mix of new and old, personal favourite of the evening was Du Riechst So Gut (Kruspes’ backing vocals literally made me weak at the knees!), I was delighted to hear old favourites Asche Zu Asche, Wollt Ihr Das Bett in Flammen Sehen? and Engel. The flames of Feuer Frei! were something Dublin never experienced before and it was a delight to notice the amusement on the fans faces during Mein Teil when lead singer Till Lindemann burns the cauldron keyboardist/treadmill walker, Flake Lorenz was sitting in. It was really cool that Rammstein played a decent portion of their set on a second stage down the back of the O2, allowing those who were unfortunate enough to get stuck behind those who were blessed with long legs and broad shoulders, to see the band up close. That was after drummer Schneider (dressed a convincing woman) lead the band down the gangway on leashes, gagged with mouth-balls, no less.

Probably the fashion of Richard Kruspe may have been the highlight for me, I did, after all, spend the evening annoying the fans around me screaming “Oh my God, Richard you sexy *******!!!!”, with his trademark long coat, followed by a long-sleeve black top, followed by a tank top, showing off his extremely toned shoulders and finally, when the top came off, every woman there was drooling, not just me! Also a personal delight to see his hair not slicked down as he has been doing recently but actually spiked up in an alternative mohawk style-very hot!!! Every woman who knows her rock n roll, knows the sexiest man in metal is the lead guitarist of Rammstein! 🙂

So in a nutshell, Rammstein came, Rammstein saw, Rammstein conquered Dublin. I lost my voice and wore out every muscle in my body. When the houselights came on and people started to leave, all one could hear was “wow!!!”, “best concert ever”, “amazing”, everyone leaving was happy, rocked out and pretty damn sure they had all just shared something special. Hopefully Rammstein thought that too and wont leave it for another 17 years before they return!

Rammstein Setlist: (cheers to http://nipunk.weebly.com/rammstein-live-in-dublin-27022012.html for an awesome memory)

Procession / Bridge /Intro

Sonne
Wollt Ihr Das Bett in Flammen
Keine Lust
Sehnsucht
Asche zu Asche
Feuer Frei
Mutter
Mein Teil
Du Riechst So Gut
Links 2-3-4
Du Hast
Haifisch

Audience Platform
Buck Dich
Mann Gegen Mann
Ohne Dich

Ist Encore.
Mein Herz Brennt
Amerika
Ich Will

2nd Encore.
Engel
Pussy

Richard Kruspe gives all he's got at the O2, Dublin 27/02/12. Copyright Stephanie Caffrey 2012.
My personal favourite, Richard Kruspe (front), Till Lindemann stands under the shower of sparks and Oliver Riedel (back) in the O2, Dublin, 27/02/12. Copyright Stephanie Caffrey 2012.
Leave a Reply

