Listen to This! Trend-E feat. Stephanie Caffrey “Don’t Assign Yourself” (Extended Vocal Mix)

Have to share this! I’m so excited about this song!!!

Completely spontaneous, completely natural, definitely inspired!!! I present my latest creative, collaborative production; “Don’t Assign Yourself” composed, mixed and produced by the brilliantly talented Trend-E!

Trend-E

Trend-E is a young, up-and-coming electronic music producer based in Drogheda. We actually got to know each other through Facebook after our bands played a few gigs in the town (Sarsfield’s Bagfull of Songs open mic night, the Purple Room’s Jam for Japan, multi-band charity night to name a few!). Trend-E is also a very talented rock drummer! He got in touch with me and we got to know each other, sharing music videos of our favourite bands (of which we have alot in common actually!) and sharing our original compositions through SoundCloud.

We actually never formally met until last week!

Trend-E uploaded the original instrumental mix of “Don’t Assign Yourself” last week online and when I listened to it, I was immediately inspired. I don’t consider myself a vocalist (only on rare occasions!) but this music really turned me on! I quickly downloaded (ahem, bold me- much to Trend-E’s amusement!) the mp3, threw it into Logic and recorded some vocal ideas. I bounced a rough mix and emailed it to Trend-E, thinking he probably would be flattered if anything and carry on as normal.

Quite the opposite! He immediately Facebook-ed me back and was so excited about my ideas, we met up that afternoon (for the first time!) where we exchanged the vocal audio files. I told him to do whatever he wanted with them, in-fact he asked for more! He asked for a verse and the next available moment I had to spare, I wrote some lyrics and recorded the verse! An hour after that we met up again and exchanged the files.

3 hours later the mix was complete, much to my shock and amazement! Not only did he place the vocal parts where I recommended, he chopped, edited, filtered, sampled and tweaked several of my vocal parts and added them in all over the song, it sounds CLASS! Trend-E the Ableton genius!

I am highly impressed and addicted to the song! I love the creative things he did to my vocal, it’s nice to be on the opposite side of the glass, so to speak! Normally I’m the one editing and processing vocals, and doing all the fun creative music stuff, mixing, producing, it was nice to record myself and just give the files to someone else to have creative fun with!

Completely unexpected! I didn’t expect to fall in love with a song and actually collaborate with a DJ! Oh yes, by the way, DJ’s rock! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a listen, if you’re in the mood to head out clubbing or dancing or driving your car or whatever, this should lift your mood and I hope you want to sing along! Just in case you do, here’s my lyrics;

Don’t Assign Yourself

(lyrics by Stephanie Caffrey)

Don’t assign yourself,

Don’t assign yourself tonight.

Read the signs,

And choose your path.

Read between the lines,

And tear the map.

Find, find, find the light.

Find, find, find the light.

Don’t assign yourself.

(a sign, a sign, a sign…..)

Don’t assign yourself.

Leave a Reply

