Six Songs Of: Stephanie Caffrey.

My task for this evening is to pick 6 songs that have significant meaning to me. I am supposed to complete the blanks on the Guardian Music’s page http://www.sixsongsof.me but most of the songs I pick do not link up with the Spotify app! I have decided to write up a quick blog instead!

Of course it’s INSANE to ask anyone never mind a music enthusiast like myself to pick just SIX songs which fit into the categories asked! There’s so much amazing recorded music out there and I can think of heaps of unrecorded music also I would mention! I’ve been racking my brains all evening and this is the list I’ve settled on. I hope you enjoy it and discover or rediscover a tune or two!

1: First Song You Bought?

“To The Moon and Back” – Savage Garden (1997)

Not strictly the first song I ever bought because I asked for the self-titled album from Savage Garden as a gift way back in 1995! I loved this song then and i still love it today. It’s amazing pop songwriting!

02: Get’s You Dancing?

“No Limit” – 2 Unlimited (1993)

An oldie, but they don’t make music like this anymore! I remember hearing this on the car radio as a kid and thinking “WOW!” If i heard this in a club today I would break into one hell of a dance! I can’t resist that hooky synth and straight up kick combo and that soaring vocal. Genius.

03: What Song Takes You Back To Your Childhood?

“Thundercats Theme” – James Lipton (1984)

I honestly couldn’t pick a commercial record for this. In my childhood, I was subjected to so much 60’s thanks to my Dad and so much 90’s thanks to my Mum. I watched an insane amount of cartoons as a child and this is one of the first I remember absolutely loving! What a theme tune! This upload brings me right back to my earliest childhood.

04: Perfect Love Song?

“Wicked Game” – Chris Isaak (1989)

Extremely hard to pick, it’s a toss up between “Nothing Else Matters – Metallica (1991) and this. I love this for the beautiful lyrics and singing and of course that breath-taking guitar. I find this deeply haunting and I have a thing for music thats written in B Dorian. This, for me, is purest beauty.

05: What Song Would You Want At Your Funeral?

“Nutshell” – Alice In Chains (1994)

Such a hard question! Of course no one wants to think about such things! I do like this song alot. It’s beautiful. Just, WOW.

06: Time For An Encore. What Song Makes You, You?

“I’m Alive” – Shinedown (2012)

The hardest question of all in my opinion! The song that makes me feel me changes every few weeks! So much music from various genres excite me and make me feel awesome! This song I discovered a few weeks ago and I just LOVE it! It’s so catchy and it ticks all my boxes of excellent listening material! It’s upbeat, got hooky guitars, catchy melodies, great harmonies, awesome lyrics, great mix and sounds! It makes me run and literally lifts my mood right up!

That was the most difficult playlist I’ve put together in my life! I had to share these choices with my classmates last week and that was a tiny bit scary! I was really nervous getting up in front of people but I quickly got over that! I was surprised my classmates didn’t know some of my song choices, this was down to the fact I am 9 years older than most pupils in the class. I didn’t mind sharing my choices, I wasn’t afraid of being judged, perhaps 10 years ago I would have been! My choices were met with open faces and friendly smiles.

Happy out!

Leave a Reply

