Playlist Project #2; 5 Songs Of The Modern Teeny Bopper (2002-2012)

This week’s playlist looks at the teeny bop phenomenon. The term “teenybopper” was introduced in the 1950’s to describe the teenager who listened to pop and rock n roll.

Inspired by recent concert reviews I’ve read online and the exciting accompanying photography (Justin Bieber performs to a sold out crowd in Milwaukee at The Bradley Center – National Performing Arts | Examiner.com), I’ve decided to focus on the modern teenybopper music. Today’s pop music is marketed at younger girls (10-17) and is synonymous with teen idols and fashion.

1. “Boyfriend” – Justin Bieber (2012)

I can’t help but feel shocked at the number of views this video has gotten on YouTube (169,005,076)! I find the music a little bit dark and a touch sinister but the lyrics are clearly the draw to young girls (accompanied with the sexy video)- “If I was your boyfriend, never let you go
Keep you on my arm girl, you’d never be alone
I can be a gentleman, anything you want
If I was your boyfriend, I’d never let you go, I’d never let you go”

2. “Call Me Maybe” – Carly Rae Jepsen (2011)

I actually never heard of this girl until a few days ago when I read about her opening show for Justin Bieber online! Am I really that out of touch?! This is a perfect example of that sugary-sweet sound designed to appeal to young girls.

3. “Every Day” – High School Musical 2 (2007)

I’ve noticed that Disney and teen idols go hand-in-hand, Disney creates a world where kids can be kids. High School Musical oozes fun and makes kids want to dance.

4. “The Best of Both Worlds” – Hannah Montana (2006)

Another Disney star. The preteen who’s the new kid in town with an alternative pop star life. With her long blonde hair and funky fashion, what preteen girl wouldn’t want to be Hannah Montana and look up to her?

5. “Sk8er Boi” – Avril Lavigne (2003)

Not as sickly sweet as the afore-mentioned songs, Avril’s got that punk-rock edge without over-doing it. An energetic song with catchy guitar hooks and memorable lyrics about a cute love story, teens instantly identify and relate to it. What’s different about this song though is that Avril actually did write the song herself with her producer The Matrix. Credibility in teeny bop?!

Leave a Reply

