Adventures Begin in Norway Erasmus IP!

Today was class! I’m exhausted! Sleeping pattern is still messed up (I can never sleep properly during college holidays- I know this isn’t a holiday but I’m not in my regular college routine, if you know what I mean!), I got about 4 hours sleep again last night and I’m still not ready to hit the hay yet! I can’t switch off! (I need to sit in lectures or the studio to actually get tired haha!).

Anyway I’m in my cosy room in Norway, chilling out on my super-soft bed, in my pj’s, nibbling some dark chocolate, thinking about today’s adventures! Homesickness has passed and I’m starting to feel settled in!

Adorable wooden figures our host makes for a hobby!
Adorable wooden figures our host makes for a hobby!

This morning we started the workshops, first up was drama! Whenever I hear the word “drama” or “acting”, I have a tendency to become extra rigid! But this morning was different, the atmosphere was warm, friendly and for once in my life, I didn’t feel silly! I don’t think I should blog about the group activities in case I spoil it for the students who will have this workshop on Thursday! It was great fun and it felt good!

After lunch we had the next workshop which was a freestyle painting and improvisation musical collaboration. Basically we put on sexy boiler suits (lol) and prepared to get messy with buckets of paints, using our hands, feet, bodies, sticks and brushes to express ourselves on a canvas on the wall.

We're sexy and we know it! ;)
We’re sexy and we know it! 😉

I was horrified at the thought of getting filthy with smelly paint and felt a bit claustrophobic in the small room. It was a bit much for me actually! We were joined by our fellow students who performed an improvised piece of music on various instruments (congas, wood blocks, keyboard, acoustic and electric guitars, ceramic jug, shakers and an upright piano with the back taken off to expose the strings).

Workshop
Workshop

It was decided by the group that the colours we would paint would reflect the music, each student would listen to a particular instrument and paint however they felt. The purpose was to build communication between the two disciplines, the art on the wall and floor being a direct emotional response to the music.

Art inspired by improvised music
Art inspired by improvised music
The floor was also a canvas..
The floor was also a canvas..

I recorded the audio from the second set, where I was playing a woodblock. I found this more enjoyable than actually painting because it was chaotic! I got a chance to take pictures too… It was an interesting experience.

Belgian student Hannah clearly enjoyed herself!
Belgian student Hanne clearly enjoyed herself!

Following this we had a massive clean-up operation and a group reflection with discussions about this exercise. We suggested ways it could be improved and what was inspiring about it.

Seán now has unique runners!
Seán now has unique runners!

Pizza time! We had the best pizza ever delivered, thanks to the organisation of lovely Oded! Everyone was mixing really well, all tables in the Kantine were actually a mix of international students, everyone was laughing, joking and sharing pizzas.

Taking a peek around the classrooms in the music department :)
Taking a peek around the classrooms in the music department 🙂

And after this we had a concert. The Norwegian students performed a half an hour set of rehearsed ensembles which included traditional tunes, rock, folk, guitar and duets. The stage was then open to everyone for an jam session, songs were sung, more traditional tunes were played, there was dancing, laughing and chatting. I recorded some of this on my Zoom Handy recorder!

Concert :)
Ensemble performance 🙂
Irish, Norwegian and Belgian musicians jam
Irish, Norwegian and Belgian musicians jam

And so here I am! It’s almost midnight already and I should at least try to get to sleep! 🙂 Looking forward to tomorrow’s field trip and free time to explore Leirvick! (I haven’t gotten any snaps of Norway’s incredible scenery yet!).

Miss my friends, family and lecturers back home but not enough to want to leave just yet! 😀

Leave a Reply

