My Weekend in Bergen, Norway :)

Apologies for not being online properly over the weekend! I was partying hard! Lol, not really, just had a poor internet connection in the hostel, I just about had enough connectivity to keep in touch with my loved ones back home! We’ve just arrived back in Leirvick, Stord tonight and I’m sharing the hotel room with Amy my classmate which works out perfect for us both! ๐Ÿ™‚ So I thought I should write about the highlights of the weekend and share some photos and audio.

Friday morning was slightly manic! We woke up late! We rushed to pack our suitcases and eat a small breakfast, saying goodbyes and thank you’s to our wonderful hosts who took such excellent care of us last week in their home. We were supposed to meet the IP students at 8.45am but we managed 9am, lucky for us, they hadn’t left for Bergen yet! ๐Ÿ˜‰

The sun was shining and the sky was clear, the sights really were amazing on the bus journey to the ferry. “OOOOH”s and “oh my god”s were exclaimed as we passed the many lakes and the sea with their beautiful reflections.

We made it to the ferry in good time and we all excited boarded, armed with cameras! I was delighted that it was such a beautiful day to go on the ferry, I couldn’t wait for the views.

Norway
Norway
IMG_0147
Heaven

IMG_0149

I like the ferry :)
I like the ferry ๐Ÿ™‚

After the ferry we got the bus to Bergen. The 2 hour journey didn’t seem to be half as long as when we first arrived arrived last week!

Straight away we went to the Grieg Academy where there was a presentation ย by masters students and lecturers, it was really interesting. We also performed for them- a sound massage and visual performances. I recorded the sound massage on my Zoom, listen to it below (don’t forget your headphones!):

After this our activities for the afternoon were cancelled because of the beautiful weather! The lecturers agreed that the sunshine was rare and felt it was important that we explored Bergen for ourselves a day early! Myself, Amy and Alex headed off for lunch and a walk around Bergen. Lunch was a warm salmon sandwich from a cafe on the harbour, very tasty!

IMG_0185

IMG_0187

IMG_0189

IMG_0192

Yoga on a frozen lake! ;)
Yoga on a frozen lake! ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_0240We all met up in the evening for a delicious dinner in the Pasta Sentral restaurant. The atmosphere was great. I went for a walk afterwards and enjoyed the beautiful sights, listening to music and exploring the shops which were opened late.

Bergen by night
Bergen by night

I had another restless night, I fell asleep around 7am, but I watched the snow fall from 4am. Very beautiful…

At 9am I was awake and headed out on my own, feeling the need to be with my thoughts, I was actually feeling really homesick! I did some souvenir shopping and found the Floibanen- the train which goes straight up the mountain! I hopped on and was amazed…

IMG_0293

IMG_0296

IMG_0298I thoroughly enjoyed my long walk in the forest which I mentioned in yesterday’s brief blog…

IMG_0330

IMG_0338

the stream where i slipped on a rock and fell on my arse lol
the stream where i slipped on a rock and fell on my arse lol
walking down the mountain..
walking down the mountain…

I managed a good sleep last night, not just because of the long mountain walk down (no map… lol) but I realised sleeping with earphones in is a great idea! I fell asleep after 5 minutes of dubstep ๐Ÿ˜‰ I never woke once which was amazing considering 5 other girls came into the room at 4am after partying!

Up and checked out 10.30am this morning, the snow was coming down heavy. Myself and Amy headed out for a quick walk, we came upon an orienteering event in the centre, runners were sprinting around the city with maps in their hands as fast as they could… I never heard of this sport before!

Amy loves the snow :)
Amy loves the snow ๐Ÿ™‚
go!
go!

We met the rest of the group at 1.30pm and we attended the open rehearsal of an Italian opera.. it wasn’t what I expected at all and I was very pleasantly surprised! There were 6 musicians on stage yet the sound was huge, I was confused for most of it, what sound was “real” and what sound was tape?! I loved it! Even though it was in Italian and there was no translations of the text, the emotion was easy to follow and I hit the nail on the head with my confusion as to what was real and what was not because it was supposed to be like this!!! I would say the finial production will be superb!!!!

Legged it to the bus and we caught the ferry back to Stord and arrived at the Grand Hotel Lervick in the evening. We’re all resting and preparing for the final week of workshops and performances.

Photos will be uploaded tomorrow of the opera….

One thought on “My Weekend in Bergen, Norway :)”

Leave a Reply

