Final Norway Blog: It’s Good to be Home!

I’ve been home a few days already, I’ve just been exhausted! It’s been mental, the 12 hour journey home from Norway on top of a crazy party the night before (4 hours drunken sleep!!), then straight back to work and college! ๐Ÿ™‚

The last few days in Norway we spent preparing for the Final Performance which was a roaring success. We performed music, dancing, drama, painting and sound massages.

Our final day in Norway was an evaluation of the CREAL Erasmus Intensive Programme which was quite insightful. The trip was quite inspirational and it was great to hear the small changes students would make if they were to take part again (next year it’s Belgium’s turn to host students!). I suggested an ice-breaker session for each college group before they travel… personally I didn’t know anyone (bar one or two!) from my college and meeting the entire 65 group was very over-whelming for me anyway! Nonetheless it was an experience to say the least!

This was followed by a nature walk through the forest on the coast… this was gorgeous!

2013-02-08 14.32.22

2013-02-08 14.36.21

2013-02-08 14.38.15

2013-02-08 14.51.57

Screen Shot 2013-02-13 at 08.21.35

We walked back to Leirvick from the beautifulย Hystadmarkjo nature reserve.

2013-02-08 15.55.19

Straight back to the hotel, quick Facebook fix, I nipped to the amazing shop next door which sold gorgeous trinkets and pretty things and picked up a few things for my house ๐Ÿ™‚ Showered and grabbed the next bus back to Rommetveit to the party in the college!

What a night it was! There was a glass of wine on arrival (me, drink white wine?! yeah it was sweet, therefore drinkable haha!), a delicious meal followed by dessert, a small photo-shoot, a slideshow of fun photos from the trip then speeches, live music, more drink, DJ music and lots of dancing!

Photo-shoot! some of team Ireland :)
Photo-shoot! some of team Ireland ๐Ÿ™‚

2013-02-08 18.20.37

funny faces!
funny faces!
the Kantine
the Kantine

2013-02-08 20.35.11

Live music- Carrie McCarthy
Live music- Carrie McCarthy
Bohemian Rhapsody ;)
Bohemian Rhapsody ๐Ÿ˜‰

2013-02-08 22.15.57

Me and Luk my Belgian friend :)
Me and Luk my Belgian friend ๐Ÿ™‚
Yes I drank pear cider! (why was there no vodka?! haha)
Yes I drank pear cider! (why was there no vodka?! haha)
LMFAO
LMFAO

The party was organised by a committee of students from the IP and I have to say they did a great job! Taxis picked us up from 1am and by 2.30am I was back in my hotel room, out for the count!

We were up at 6.45am to meet for breakfast, we were getting the speedboat up the fjords to bergen airport at 7.50am. This was a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Sleepyheads get the speedboat...
Sleepyheads get the speedboat…

We got the plane from Bergen to London, a 3 hour stop-over (where I experienced a typical British dish, yum!) and then back to Dublin for 5.40pm. I was home by 7.30pm and in bed asleep by 9.30pm! Most of the Irish had hangovers (not this cat- I remembered to drink 2 bottles of water before hitting the pillow in Norway!).

I am sharing my audio portfolio from the trip also here… Have a listen, I’ve included sound massages, lapping of fjord water on the shore, Irish traditional live music, haunting Norwegian female vocal harmonies, dances and improvised music to paint to! Enjoy!

Back to college life at DkIT! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

